One winter... the fiercest faced in years exposed the cracks in the world.  The economy collapsed and took everything with it.  For some, the warning signs were always there but there was little they could do about it but for others it end of modern civilization came with zero warning.

In Northern Ontario, a small group band together to rebuild their shattered civilization, even with the odds stacked against them and anyone who tries to push this beacon of hope finds that they've kicked a very capable hornet's nest over...



Book One of the Rangers of Walden Series

by Kristan Cannon

We thought we had no reason to worry... We were wrong.

The residents of the small town of Whitefish are no strangers to snow. Used to being forgotten and having to dig their own way out, no one thought anything of it during one of the coldest winters on record when help just never came. But as fuel runs out and raiders press in on all sides, Derek, Sheridan, and Garrett it's not just the snow they need to dig their way out of...


From Salesman to Master Ranger


Derek Moss was so close to an easy, and early, retirement he could practically taste it. But his well-laid plans blow up in his face when he and his wife find themselves far from home with little more than the clothes on their back—and just enough luck to find themselves on Sheridan’s ranch just outside of Whitefish.


For Derek, retirement is going to have to wait a few more years…


Book Two of the Rangers of Walden Series

by Kristan Cannon

Their biggest test is hurtling towards them ...
... On steel rails.


​With the corrupt Colonel to their east, and the slavers to their west, determined to both call Walden’s rich resources their own Derek, Sheridan, and Garrett have to act quickly to make sure their home isn’t the next to fall to the pressures from outside… and within.


Derek swore he would never get pulled into another adventure...


​After nearly being killed protecting Lively, Derek returns to Whitefish and learns Garrett was at the nearby High Falls. Still recovering from the injuries gained in Lively— with no guarantee of still finding his friend alive—he embarks on an expedition up to High Falls to find Garrett.


But finding Garrett ends up being the least of their worries when he discovers that the slavers to their west have an operating train with a clear path straight to the fledgling Kingdom of Walden's heart--and to their new Queen.


Book Three of the Rangers of Walden Series

by Kristan Cannon

Four years ago Derek Moss formed the Rangers of Walden to protect the last spark of civilization from those who would see it all vanish into dust. Now, Colonel Harnet has encroached into the borders. He has one aim on his mind--taking the last barrier between him and total control over the whole Region.


Allies under fire.


Communities once free are slowly falling under the tyranny of Colonel Harnet. Those who resist are brutally dispersed. Survivors are forced to flee to new safe havens or into communities who have bowed under the pressure. One last one remains--the small enclave of survivors led by Russell Wither on the shore of Richard Lake.


And the drums of war thunder


Harnet's soldiers strike deep into the heart of Walden, fanning the flames of war. The Rangers know one thing: 


They will never leave their allies with only silence as an answer.


Book Four of the Rangers of Walden Series

by Kristan Cannon


... But this hardly means lost.


Derek Moss is alone and far behind the enemy lines controlled by Colonel Harnet. While he's not lost--it's hard to be lost when he's managed to find his own, if old, backyard in Garson itself--he finds himself cut off from the Rangers of Walden and without allies as his own have presumed him dead. But he knows one thing Harnet doesn't... and that's how to win even when the odds are against him.


A Kingdom pressed on two sides.


The death of a Queen is never easy, but it's twice as difficult to hold everything together as Regent when Marissa now has to deal with the slavers sensing an opening on her West... and the war with Harnet on her East. All she wants is a chance to breathe again--and to mourn the heavy losses the war to retake the Downtown Core have cost her new home...


... But time isn't on anyone's side, and the final storm on the horizon will have consequences none of them are prepared to pay.

© 2020 by Kristan Cannon. Proudly created with

This site was designed with the
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now